Absolute Newbie looking for feedback on an idea

Hello all,

Myself and some friends are looking to start Empire. We want to (at least initially) hail from the same region and the Brass Coast seems to be the route. We are working our way through forums and the Wiki (which, as I feel you all know, is a lot to digest). We have a bit of a concept forming and I was hoping we could get some feedback.

After leaving our native lands to seek prosperity and freedom over the years we have found one another and began sailing and trading as one. This has led us to Feroz and the free people of the empire which we collectively call home…

Among our “crew” we have our chef who intends to make his fortune through the sale of delicacies and putting his knowledge of spices to the test, even developing potions and tonics.

We have our Artisan, master crafter [eventually]. Making his fortune through selling weapons and armour.

Here is where we get a little more uncertain. A few of us would like to get involved in the combat so we were thinking of a “sell swords” idea. Making our fortune through contracts. Fighting alongside other armies (for a price). We weren’t really thinking “thuggish mercenaries” but more “adventurers”, ready for a new challenge to test our worth and make some money along the way.

How would this fit with the Brass Coast?

We were thinking of having some splashes of different cultures in our armour and attire (thinking
varangian guard) so some hints to the cultures we may have claimed from with some adaptations from the Brass Coast (mainly to make sure we also don’t look completely out of place).

How feasible would this be?

Would other families/armies actually seek contracts with us (probably only 3 fighters in total?)

Does anyone know of something like this that exists which may give us a better idea?

Thank you all for your help

P.s. one of the “sell swords” is our on ship Physik