Anyone recruiting?

Hello, I am a potential new player and I am hoping to come to the September event. However I am finding it difficult to find any friends that are interested in coming with me. As this is the case I was wondering if anyone would be interested in recruiting a total newbie to their hall (or group, or whatever). Obviously I recognize that it’s a little strange that I’m asking to meet some total strangers, but I would greatly appreciate any advice.
Thanks very much!

Training for battle

Do you have a preference to what nation, or what kind of game you want to get into.
Going solo is a fine way to start as long as you know what you are looking for.
Fighting? Magic? Politics ect

Which nation are you joining?

Not a problem Arthurjones.

You may wish to start by having a look at the various nations, and getting a feel for which of them you find interesting. Or indeed, which you feel you have (or can find) costume for.

Beyond that, you CAN wander around solo for as long as you like, but you may feel slightly excluded, especially if you’re new to the hobby and the system.

And if you don’t get any other offers, I have a space or two in my group (which I shall briefly describe as Wizard-Knight-Pirates of Dawn), if you are interested in heading that way. Happy to take on “total newbies” and show them around, and no obligation to stay.

I was solo and new to all LARPing at the last event and found a lot of people in the league who were welcoming and lovely. It will be the same with all the other nations and you can quickly join groups in play.
My personal advice is to really get over any anxiety about meeting new people, put yourself out there, and maybe try and get there early to meet people in your nation ahead of time in. Helping people set up is a quick way to make friends on the field, even if they aren’t in your group.