Beginner LARPer

Hi guys!

I’m completely new to LARP in general, and Empire is my first system and E1 will be the first event I’ve ever attended - I’ve chosen Dawn as my Nation and am beginning to make kit plans. I was wondering if you guys have any advice both generally and specific to Dawn; I’d love it if you guys could give me advice on how to get involved with the IC community, and any pointers you think I should be aware of regarding kit and character design.

Don’t worry about explaining camping, I can do that bit! But anything to do with LARP and the Dawn community at large would be really appreciated. Thanks :slight_smile:

Welcome to Empire! :smiley:

First thing I’d say is, I massively recommend playing with a group at Empire. It’ll give you established relationships and character dynamics, and you’ll have people to bounce off while you’re still going “argh field full of strangers argh”. Having IC mates makes a huge amount of difference to my fun.

Relatedly, I don’t recommend playing the silent, brooding, mysterious stranger in the corner of the bar who never talks to anyone. On account of you never get to talk to anyone. It looks cool but it’s just not fun to play. (Cue a number of people disagreeing with me here…) For me, the crucial bit is having characters who are motivated to do the things that I find fun in larp. Even if I’ve got all the skills, if my character’s just got no reason to do it, that eats into my fun and makes me sad.