Best/Cheapest Commission Weapons?

Who does the best? And of them, who’s the cheapest? I’ve got plans for an uber-badass, unique axe that I want done really well, but i’m a student, so money is an issue :stuck_out_tongue:

The best value custom weapon maker I know of is In Your Dreams FX. Quality custom weapons at surprisingly low prices.

Prices are pretty comparable between the good makers, and quality is pretty similar as well. What’s a lot more relevant most of the time are style and reliability.

Different makers have different styles. Tallows does historical and celtic fantasy stuff, narrow thin light blades, ornate carving. Saxon Violence is also historical, but thicker, more solid and more realistically heavy. Some makers have very distinctive ways of doing certain things — lots of Medlock weapons have repeated latex mouldings as parts of their grip and decoration, while Eldritch makes all his grips in a certain way with stitched suede. Light Armouries tends to be thin and whippy, but very fast, while Skian mhor is heavier, a bit slower, but much less whippy. IYDFX is good at making stuff that looks fairly realistic, but does cosplay orders as well.

In short, each maker has their own distinctive fingerprint, ways they do things and styles of weaponmaking that they have and other people tend not to. You can get something of a sense for their aesthetic style from the internet, but you’re best off doing so at an event or kit fair or something, so you can handle the weapons and get a sense that way. Remember that there’s very few “right” answers about who’s best, only “this is the maker who does weapons that are most suited to my aesthetic and fighting style”. You don’t have to agree with other people about if swords are nicely weighted or good to fight with, there is more than one way to skin a cat.