Costume help!

Hey, im new to empire and am hopefully planning to go next year but im finding it hard to plan my costume as I dont have much money and a lot of things are expensive online, I also do not know whether the image linked would be good to use, im planning on playing as wintermark but i dont know whether or not the skirt would fit with its pattern and material, im also wondering about footwear, I dont want to have to spend £50+ for some new boots so I was wondering what I can do for that, thanks :stuck_out_tongue:

To answer your question about footwear:

Generally speaking, ‘the costume ends at the ankles’ - You can wear whatever is comfortable on your feet with the exception of things like trainers etc.

So you can use walking boots for example, or even wellies! (I cut the tops of mine off and trimmed them with fur - a fellow Winterfolk) It’s important to ensure you have comfortable, suitable footwear that keeps your feet warm and dry. you could also try to find some cheaper hiking boots, there are plenty around on place like ebay and stuff.

I’m afraid I can’t really help with the skirt question as I’m not 100% on the lore for skirts in Wintermark. I mostly see people in tunics and stuff but imagine a skirt may work? as long as it was made to look like the Wintermark spec, which you can find here.

Hope this helps!

Charity shops for boots, and for a surprising amount of other kit too.
You have more than six months, just keep an eye out and you will find something before too long.

Bear in mind that neither Wintermark or Navarr are Celtic, there isn’t a big thing on tartans…

That said, an intricate pattern in subdued colours certainly fits Wintermark. Material…? What’s it made from? Because as long as it isn’t too obviously synthetic you’ll be fine.

Re costume on a budget, charity shops can be great sources of stuff. Trousers, tops, skirts, etc, something that you could tweak or change with a sash or a simple design.