Hello there

Hello there, I’m totally new to Empire and actually to LARPing in general. I play D&D and Savageworlds but have been eager to try LARP for a while now.

I’m not sure when I will get to attend an event due to my work schedule but I’m gathering stuff for my costume in the meantime and reading up things on the wiki. I was wondering, is it best to go with a big group of people? I’m not sure I can convince many people to come with me.

2 Likes

You can solo Empire but a group gives a different type of game. If you can’t find friends to come with you, there are plenty of groups recruiting. Which nation are you looking at? Each nation has a facebook group which can be a good place to start.

I was thinking probably Dawn, I’m loving the medieval aesthetic, and the whole idea of nobility being earned through deeds and glory rather than inheritance is intriguing.

I would be taking at the very least my boyfriend with me, so I wouldn’t be entirely alone, but I’ll definitely have a look for the FB group!

Oh, I have a question also. If I don’t have orc appropriate costuming can I still do monstering?

Basically what you want for monstering is generic base layers, things that look vaugely IC, or not obviously OOC. PD then have some Light weight armour you can wear over the top.

Edit: Oh and Orc masks

If you can persuade some people to come along with you it can be a lot of fun, even just being in a group of 2 or 3 people makes for a different game than being solo. As you’re all able to rely on each other, watch each other back if you want to go to battle or skirmish and you complement each others skills. Like one person have some healing, one person having sword and shield and another a long weapon or a bow say. But it’s mainly that you’ve got some people along for the ride of jumping into this new complete world.

Solo is a different experience, still cool, but you do need to have a bit of a different approach. Here’s some advice on flying solo at Empire.

1 Like