Help with making my character needed! :)

Hey, I’m very new to Empire and looking to attend my first event at the Winter Solstice. But I’m unsure if I’m creating a character that actually works. I wanna make a decent healer mage but also be able to defend myself well. I’ve invested points into magician so I can have a wand to cast spells along with extra mana and 2 more spells (Heal and recover limb). After looking at weapons and such i really like the idea of fighting with a spear so invested in the skill that lets me do that. on top of that and using another point to be a spring ritualist I don’t have any left to get battle mage. Does this matter? Do i really need a staff? or is spear and wand a good idea??
I heard you get more skill points at some point. So for now is this setup cool? and then when i get more point invest in battle mage?

Many thanks :slight_smile:

Hello, welcome aboard! I think you’re going along the right lines, but I’d make some tweaks. I’ll also point out that the best defence for a magician on the battlefield is a heavily armoured warrior who you can hide behind.

Are you aware that you can use a stab-safe staff as a weapon to thrust at enemies with? You won’t be able to use CLEAVE or any other heroic special attacks, but you’re a magician. Taking Battlemage instead of spear lets you wear mage armour (+2 hits) and use mage staffs and costs the same points. It’s the only armour you can wear and still cast magic with.

So I would suggest:
Magician
Battlemage
Extra Mana
Extra Spell x2

And then leave your last point free. Either to pick up another spell - possibly an attack spell. Or a single point of ritual magic if you join a coven.

Are you coming in as part of a group or with a nation in mind?

2 Likes

Thank you so much, I read about using staves as weapons. I just love the look of spears and glaives. But other than the use of mage Armour I’m unsure what bonuses of Battle Mage are.