Hero points and Mana

Hi everyone,

I am quite new to Empire and I was wondering why hero points are harder to obtain(Starting with 2 Hero Points compared to 4 mana) and replenish (Mageblood replenishes 2 mana for two herbs whereas Philter of Strength replenishes 1 Hero point for 3 herbs) than mana?

2 Likes

Primarily I’d say that Hero Points can be used in Armour where as Mana requires some degree of risk with it.

There’s probably other reasons to go with it, mana is perhaps more verstile, and mages rely more on their mana, i.e a mage without mana is arguably not as useful as a frontliner without hero points, although thats more personal opnion.

4 Likes

Hero points have pretty much only 2 uses: on the battlefield, or to resist certain auras.

Personal mana is used for : detecting magic (first part of almost any investigation), Opening portals (both for the hall of worlds and the Sentinel gate), Creating bonds - for any item with a ribbon, and also people into covens, and casting spells which may be used off the battlefield too.

I guess the game design is such that you go through personal mana faster so it’s easier to replenish. As a Magician, I almost always spend time in an aura during an event, often more than once to return my mana so I can carry on with what I am doing. As far as I am aware most people with hero points rely on them returning after sleep, and don’t bother with actively seeking a way of replacing them.

NB there are also aura’ / processes for returning hero points using consecration and priestly ceremonies which can be done off the battlefield, same as magical auras replace mana, free to use multiple times once set up for the weekend.

3 Likes

Mmm, I think the only people who can answer that with any degree of authority are the game creators, but IbisCappelli’s and CharlieP’s summaries seems good theories.

(And welcome to the forum, Berwyn!)

So a starting Character starts with 2 Hits.