Highguard - Warrior Priest

Hi Everyone!

Im new to Empire and will likely be coming to the event in July!
Looking at the Wiki and other resources i want to be involved in both the combat game and another area to do during downtime. Religion has taken my fancy.
Does it make sense in anvil to play a ‘paladin’ or ‘warrior priest’ of courage? That is to say i am a combat orientated character but with a congregation (to be involved in the synod) and dedication/hallow to be involved in the religion game.
Might be worth noting that in terms of character dress i will likely be wearing a gambeson rather than priestly clothes but will make/sew a courage patch (axe/blue flower) onto the gambeson somewhere.

Sorry for the info dump, just wanted to hear some ideas whether combat/priest is a thing that happens in Empire.
Thanks for the help!
Corbeck

Welcome to Highguard! Warrior priest is a perfectly good concept; my previous character was one!

‘Paladin’ as a term is not highly used in Empire but the concept of a religious warrior is fine, especially if your chosen virtue is Courage; priests of courage are famous for being warriors and having a notoriously short lifespans due to charging into battle.

Please be aware combat makes up a small part of empire; make sure you have plenty to do outside of hitting things!

I assume when you say ‘downtime’, you mean ‘time off the battlefield’ rather than ‘time between events’.

Priesting gives opportunities for lots of game in between battles while on the field, but the game you find in between each event is limited to your own imagination (same with all of us!).

Thanks for the reply! Good to know my idea has legs :slight_smile:

Well aware of combat being a smaller part of empire, thats why i want to get involved with synod sttuff and possibly some of the economic side of the game. Is there any way of making it clear i am a priest during time off the battlefield?