How Does Magic Work?

I’m basically completely new to role play and larping, but read a bit of the wiki and got really interested and am curious about what can be done with magic. I understand that there’s a lot of different types of magic but it’s so broad I could ask a million questions but i’ll try and keep it to just a few :joy:

• How improvisational is magic? for example could I come up with a spell/ritual to make someone angry with another character
  • What different ways can magic and role playing effects be put on a person? as in potions and rituals but i’m not sure how else
  • If there are specific spells how do I learn those rituals and how many spells are there? do I need to go to a magic school or would someone just tell me?
  • What are the main differences from how the abilities of Religion and Magic? are there set affects each can do basically?

Thanks so much for any help on the subject

Welcome aboard! Those are some pretty broad queries but I’ll try and point you in the right direction to get started.

Your roleplay when performing magic is very free and improvisational. There are no set spell words as in other systems, for instance. The Heal spell has four examples at the bottom of the page and a list of suggestions to think of when making up your own. You would still be casting the same spell with the same effect.

Making up a whole new ritual is possible. It has a cost, and a process so it can’t be done on the fly. Here is the Spontaneous Magic page. In summary you discuss it with the game team, fill in a form, submit 10 mana crystals and give the game team overnight to work on it. This produces a document with your new ritual on it. You can then cast it from the projection or petition the Conclave to add it to the Imperial ritual list.

I’m not sure I fully understand the question. I think you’re asking to distinguish between:
Enchantment - a persistent beneficial magic effect, usually placed by magic ritual.