How to avoid plot at Empire

Oh one last one before we go - Matthew Pennington is a plot writer with a slightly different take on the question of how you can get plot at Empire.

++HOW TO AVOID PLOT AT EMPIRE++

How to get Plot at Empire? I’m a plot writer at Empire and I’m not really sure how to “get” plot. Certainly the kind of plot I write isn’t really intended to be “got” - it just is. It’s a thing in the world and you either care about it - or you don’t - you choose to react to it - or you don’t.

When I write plot for Empire - I tend to think in terms of “weather”. The game is a huge sandbox - a world you can go and do anything your character can do. The rules are on the wiki - the Imperial laws are on the wiki - and it’s possible from that to calculate what you think is going to happen at an event. I see it as my job to rain on your parade - to introduce complications and problems that cause your best laid plans to go awry - or if we’re feeling generous to give you opportunities to take advantage of. The risk in any player-led game is that the world becomes very predictable, very settled. I write plot to try and stir the world up a bit - not too much - I’ve no interest in my plot becoming the narrative of the event - I want to do just enough to make your life difficult.

So I don’t think any of my plot is very “gettable” - to be honest I think the kind of plot I write is working “best” when players carefully and meticulously step around it. If the plot is a problem - then you can solve it - but solving it is probably expensive. If you can talk to some other players - and just circumvent the problem completely - all the better!

So I’m going to cheat and answer a different question - how to enjoy Empire?

1) Antagonize.

My first piece of advice for enjoying Empire would be to imagine that you are the only NPC in a field of 1500 players.