How to make a Bravo charter in league with out a free company?

I am new to LARP in general and I’m thinking of playing a bravo from The League but I don’t have anyone to go with or a free company to join. is it possible to go to empire and fine some group or free company to join at the event?

Welcome along, to the hobby, this game, and these forums!

It is indeed possible to find a group to join at the event! You would therefore be joining “in-character”.

(As opposed to making a plan and arrangements before-hand and joining before the event, “out-of-character”)

The upside of joining IC is that it’s very much you playing the part. You don’t know anyone, neither does your character. You are both exploring and asking pertinent questions at once. This makes the role-playing easier, but also harder, as people will be asking searching questions like:
“Where are you from then?”
“Why do you want to join our lot?”
It also means you won’t need a lot in the way of preparation, but will not look particularly affiliated after joining (in terms of any colour schemes, symbols, etc)

The upside of joining OOC is that you can make plans, meet people online, and make any relevant costume before the event. You can write your character a backstory and weave it into an existing tale of a group. “Yes, I am the cousin of X over there and have been working in his shop and wanted to come for a while but missed the last meeting because of that big thing that happened in our home town…” Of course, you then need to remember at least some of this, and pretend you know all these people, and maybe invest in some specific costume…

If you with to discuss this at enthusiastic length, there will likely be Leaguers along to try and recruit you (hold out for a good price :stuck_out_tongue: ), but feel free to continue asking questions here or on the League forum.

Also, there is a Facebook group for that nation:

1 Like