Knight Errant idea

Hello there!

I’m new to Empire and used to Lrp ages ago when I was much younger. I’m looking forward to coming back to playing and have a character idea but I’m not sure if it will work.

I’m thinking of playing a Knight Errant who’s father was a shamed noble, my idea is that my character is trying to prove to himself more than anyone else that he is worth the Test of Mettle and all it entails to bring honour back to his family in some way or another.

Would this work or?

In advice is appreciated!

Cheers.

Hi!

Yes this definitely works! There’s a few interesting ways to do this idea:

1. The father who failed or never managed to finish his Test of Mettle

2. Illegitimate child.

3. is the harder one but possibly the more rewarding. Try reading through profounddecisions.co.uk/empire-wiki/Marriage_in_Dawn to get some ideas. Particularly note the third and fifth paragraphs. This is an epic style story to clear your family’s name and you are likely to get people on both sides.

4. is easier to overcome the shame of but more common, someone who failed rather than dying gloriously. This feels like it would be more of a personal issue to prove your father was good enough rather than nobles looking down on the entire family like in 2) if that makes sense?

Feel free to ask more questions to clarify if you’d like. :slight_smile:

I do like the thought of the second point more I think. So my next question will be. If I play the son of two nobles that left to fall in love as their child could I return to Dawn in hopes of finding Glory and Renown even though I came from a shamed family? I don’t want to play a character that wont fit the setting.

I will say this though, Empire seems a lot more focused on the actual RP which is a nice change!