Little advice please

Hey folks,

This isn’t normally like me but I’d like to ask for some advice.

I’m new to Empire, and to LRP in general (E2 is my second event ever) and new to my group too, kinda joined them by accident during E1 and know no one OC.

So, on Sunday it’s the 2 year anniversary of a traumatic incident for me, and still affects me now. I’m just a touch worried about how I’ll be IC wise, and whether or not it’s wise to warn my group OC and just basically ask them to keep an eye on me if they notice me withdrawing into myself/becoming morose. I know ruminating on it will do me no good, and do tend to find it helps to think about/do other things. Which is part of the reason why I am going this weekend, to get away from my regular self and the unwelcome memories.

I’m just worried about burdening people with my OC baggage and issues. My problem isn’t so much talking about it, but partly that I don’t really know anyone all that well. Did tell someone about it last event whilst a little worse for wear, but they are not going to be at E2 and I had thought I wouldn’t be able to come.

Sorry for the wall of text guys and the anonymousness. I would have posted this on my relevant national board/group page but yeah… Reasons and stuff and things.

Thank you

Kargs

Absolutely mention it to them, plus any coping strategies that you find useful, any warning signs/triggers that might mean that you may need a little extra TLC or anything else they may find useful. That way if they find you they have an idea of what to do to help.

If I had asthma, for example, I’d let my mates know OC so if I found myself unable to speak they would have a good chance of guessing what was wrong and would know where I stashed my emergency inhaler (not sure if this is the greatest analogy in the world but it was what sprang to mind first).

I can understand not wanting to burden people but you have a duty of care to yourself too.

Thank you :slight_smile: