Looking for a Buddy

Hello all!
I’m planning on heading to the first event of 2019 but being a total newbie to Empire (and LARP) in general I was looking for someone (possibly also a newbie) to buddy up with… I’m quite an introverted person and I think having one friendly face out in the field, or to camp next to, would put me at ease…slightly.
If there’s any other new people feeling the same way please drop me a message. Or if anyone has any tips on feeling less awkward around strangers please god share them :joy::pray:t2:

I’m not sure how much help I can be with teaming up with you but I can give you a few tips on feeling less awkward around strangers.

A really basic one that you can do at larp is wear something that covers your face. I find this helps as if you feel you have made a mistake then you don’t have to worry about people judging you because no one knows who you are.

I find that simply forcing yourself to stand up straight and speak clearly can help. Sometimes you will also need to reassure yourself in your head. Hand gestures can fill silences and if you make sure you annunciate each word, it should get you to speak a bit slower, thus give you time to think, but not make it seem obvious.

Also if you have a reason to talk to them, that can help. For example, if you are looking for something. If you do this, you have to push the sentence out before you have time to stop yourself and then let it go from there.

Having food and drink either to give away or sell can also be a good reason.

Almost everyone I have met at anvil has been friendly. People are a lot more open to talking there as you all have something in common and it is a fairly niche thing. I’ve spoken to many people in the food line and while setting up my tent.

A compliment is a great place to start. “Your costume is great” will all most always get a positive response. I usually ask about whether or not it is there first time and what they do. Having openers ready can be a help.