New Player Wintermark Costume

Hi, I’m new to Empire and looking at creating a new costume. My character is a young hardened captain of a fleet, or at least aspiring to be. I want his costume to resemble what once was great craftsmanship but over the adventures is now battered and each imperfection tells a story from battle or encounter.
Would these ideas be appropriate for the world and have you got any advice?

I’m afraid that’s a bit too modern for the wintermark brief.

Are you planning on being Steinr, Suaq or Kallavesi? They each have specific costume briefs, and we’ll be happy to help you find something that suits you and the brief.

Weathering a costume to make it look lived in isn’t too difficult, but also do remember the Empire events are the equivalent of Davos or the G20 meeting up once a quarter, you’re someone important just by turning up, and you’ll probably be wearing your best to make an impression, so it isn’t likely to be your everyday wear.

2 Likes

Thank you so much.

Yeah I was worried it was too modern, I’ll go for a different look. I’m planning on being Steinr and I am looking for a cheaper way of doing it. I like the aesthetic of the Rohirrim and the diagonal leather armour of the Starks but it can be quite pricey.

I was thinking a signature coat/cloak perhaps like Thorin Oakenshieds. Most the advice I’ve heard is to have a signature feature.

Is there a specific colour scheme?
Are furs appropriate for the Wintermark look?
And are there any more recommendations on reference and cost effective sollutions?

Thank You

Welcome Sodnods, to the game and the forums!

It’s a good concept, and the bone-handled knives are a nice idea (if you can find some LARP-safe ones, which is likely), but the overall look there is a little too modern, as mentioned. Think more Viking and less Pirates of the Carribean.