New player!

Apologies for the new player post but I had to just drop a line and say I am really excited to be joining Dawn as a Knight Errant. I have been saying I would come to empire for 2 years now but that just means I had 2 years to work out my nation aaand Dawn was by far the closest to what I want!

My kit is a little subdued in colour and what not, kind of rogue’ish. I wanted to get more apropros kit as my characters prestige and what not increases. pretty much working with a sleeveless black gambeson, flax undershirt, my belt and sword frog/pouches. Pretty much just basic but functional.

I really don’t want to look awful or out of place.

Looking forward to seeing everyone!

any advice would be great!

Luke.

Got a nice and obvious Yellow Sun on Blue Field Object yet?

not as of yet, any advice?

I don’t think anyone expects you to have perfect kit your first event, don’t worry you aren’t going to look awful. The worst that is likely to happen is people will mix you up with other nations(Which happens a reasonable amount for experienced players as well.) Just keep thinking of little ways you can improve it.

As Taxellor mentions, if you can think of any way of adding a blue piece of fabric with the sun of Dawn on it that would be an obvious first step. The simplest way I can think of is just get some yellow/gold fabric paint, cut out a stencil of a sun design and paint it onto some blue cloth. Then loop that over your belt. (If you don’t edge it properly the edges will fray, but that’s not the end of the world in the short term.)

It’s worth remembering as well that any member of Dawn can ask for a test of mettle. Think about ways to make your kit limitations into a feature of the character. I doubt it’s easy for your average yeoman* to cobble together the equipment required of a knight errant, making that part of the character could help you stand out in people’s minds.