Newbie here!

So after a lot of procrastinating I’m finally peeking my head out and introducing myself!

Planning to attend the event in July, which will be my first ever LRP. My character will be from Navarr, probably a healer though that isn’t set in stone quite yet, so suggestions welcome! I am also attending solo so any groups willing to have a beginner in the ranks would be great. I’ll also be joining the Facebook group so you should be able to find me there if you’d rather.

Now we get to the stupid questions :wink:

Firstly I’ve read a few things on the wiki and forum that have mentioned IC bartering, just curious as to the rules surrounding this and what generally players use to barter.

Also have a question about kit. The wiki has said Celtic knotwork shouldn’t be used for Navarr and I was wondering if tartan was also on the no go list. I have a few things already that might do for kit but they are tartan so no clue how appropriate they’d actually be.

Oddly enough the only questions I can think of right now, probably be cause its later than I realised. Will be back with more for sure, but now its time for bed I think! Any tips and advice would be wildly appreciated and I’m excited to join you all for the summer!

3 Likes

I’m not that familiar with the Navarr brief, so I’ll hold off on those questions, but as for bartering it could be anything; weapons, cake, your time, a bit of kit, some herbs, a ritual, some mana. It’s common that people will mentally tot up what something is worth in rings before swapping but as long as both parties are happy, why not. :slight_smile:

Welcome to the game, @raonaid, and keep asking questions!

Welcome to Navarr! Been in the nation since the start of the game and really love costuming, so:

Navarr are not Celts. Using tartan to make your Navarr character look Celtic is not really the best idea.