The nation briefs seem very restrictive? How much wiggle room is there?

Hi, I’m new to LARP and was hoping to come to E4.

I’m trying to decide on a nation and I really like Brass Coast, but the wiki brief seems very restrictive. It seems that all Freeborn(?) have to be completely honest and for lack of a better word “Good”.

In general, all of the nation briefs seem to describe heroes and people who are entirely “Good”. Seemingly leaving little room for any sort of individual variance.

Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to run around stabbing people. But I certainly at some point want to do some scheming, and perhaps engage in some low level villainry. This however seems completely at odds with the brief.

Is it bad RP to be a scheme and lie as a freeborn?

Sorry if this is a bit of a wierd question. It’s just that everything on the nation wiki seems so prescriptively idealistic and heroic, whereas the stories that I’ve heard from players online seem so much more dynamic and morally grey.

So the Briefs are somewhat restrictive, enforced IC by the egregore bond reinforcing the cultural traditions and taboos of the nation. They are designed primarily to make things dramatic and less than straight forward.

That said there’s nothing innately good required in the Brass Coast brief, yes they speak the truth for fear a lie may shatter their soul but that doesn’t stop them being able to scheme, provide half truths, misdirections, misleading interpretations and other such obfuscations on their true intentions and actions.

The Empire does believe itself to be good (our neighbours may disagree!). We have the Way and our beliefs keeping us together, and while we all interpret things differently we do, at heart, believe in Virtue and in the righteousness of our actions.

The Freeborn in particular do adhere to honesty, but one of the things you’ll note is that they aspire to Honesty, and not everyone can achieve it 100% of the time. But they do all try.