Totally new to this...Have many daft questions!

Hi everyone,

I will be attending empire for the first time ever in July and I have no idea what to expect. I’ve also never been camping before. I am completely new to all of this and I have no idea what I need to bring. I’ve done some basic searches online and i’ve been reading the wiki so I think i’ve got some basics down.

Does anyone have an essentials list (or a link to one) that they would recommend for a total noob like myself?

I’m grateful for any advice you guys have, thanks! x

Hi Eleanor!

This’ll be my first Empire as well, but I’ve been LARPing for a while. This and this are two lists that get bandied around a lot when it comes to ‘what should I bring?’.

Do you know which Nation you’re joining yet? If so, it’s probably worth making contact with their Egregore. There’s also a New Player briefing at the event which it’s been recommended I and my gaggle of newbies throw ourselves at, so we’ll probably see you there :smiley:

[quote=“CogGirl”]
Do you know which Nation you’re joining yet? [/quote]

From Eleanor’s name I am guessing Dawn. :slight_smile: (Yay!)

Do check out the various Empire facebook groups as well. Particularly the Dawn one.

Hiya!

Do you have a group that you are going with, or are you coming by yourself? If you are coming by yourself I endorse all the above, plus perhaps asking around to see if a group within your chosen nation wouldn’t mind taking you under wing for an event or two.

Definitely ask about the New Player team when you get on the field, they will want to help you find your feet.

Empire is a great game but because it’s so huge and there’s so much going on it can be easy to find it intimidating - stick with it, and never be afraid to jump in to something if it’s going on around you. I got my current job by simply sticking my hand up in the air and assuming I’d figure out how to do it afterwards.