Web of celestial attunement

profounddecisions.co.uk/empire-wiki/Web_of_Celestial_Attunement anyone used one of these? are they a single shot item ?

Atm, I don’t think there are any single-shot items made by artificers. Like other crafted items, they last four events by default.

I °am° surprised they don’t have a “once per day…” clause on them mind, and will need to double check that.

If this is your covenstone then you are only getting 1 coven ritual a day so that regulates itself.

I think you’re right and its the opportunity cost to have extra rituals from a different covenstone that means this hasn’t got a daily limit on it. Graeme will know. I say confidently.

So to summarize -
The item, once created, lasts for a year.
As with other covenstones, it can only be used by one bonded Coven on any given day.
Contributing to another Coven’s ritual with this takes one use of your own Coven bond.
Thus the thing can only be used twice a day (three times if you cast Twist of Moebius yesterday).

Thus the thing can only be used twice a day (three times if you cast Twist of Moebius yesterday).

I’m not sure this is true -

In theory, you can bond this, use it between your coven and another twice, unbond it and have different covens use it.

Am I wrong in saying that? It may sound unlikely but I think I’m half relying on this to be true for things going on at the Winter event.

Usually, items only work for the first person they’re bonded to in a day. I had some +max mana robes which worked like that - even though I hadn’t used any of the ‘extra’ mana, they wouldn’t work for someone else later in the day if I had been bonded to them overnight, then unbonded them and bonded them to the other person.

The Webs are even more of an edge case though (because there’s no particular time when they discharge their power into you, unlike the robes) so you might want to actually email in - especially if you’re relying on it. (And post the results here so other interested parties can read them and know!)

[quote=“gwoodhouse”]>Thus the thing can only be used twice a day (three times if you cast Twist of Moebius yesterday).

I’m not sure this is true -

In theory, you can bond this, use it between your coven and another twice, unbond it and have different covens use it.

Am I wrong in saying that? It may sound unlikely but I think I’m half relying on this to be true for things going on at the Winter event.[/quote]

You assume here that a magic item can be bonded to Athelstan, used by Athelstan, bonded to Beth and used by Beth in a single day, but I believe this is false - a magic item can only be used by one person per day. Shall look for a source unless someone beats me to it.

Chessy: I disagree, there’s a clear time when they use their power - namely the moment when you contribute to another coven’s ritual.

I believe this bit of wiki from the magic item page is useful here. The bullet points summarize:

**You can never use two items of the same type in the same day
If an item has been used then it cannot be used again that day **

It’s also worth noting: *If the character or item is not present when the break bond spell is cast then the power of the item for the day is automatically used, as is the character’s ability to use an item of that type for that day. *

Hope that’s helpful.

I believe that the first point would prevent a coven that has been bonded to a coven stone and used a ritual drawing on it’s power from using the power of any other coven stone during that day. The second point would mean that if someone had used the power of the covenstone, no other coven could use the power of that stone until the next day.

There is some uncertainty of how that effects the individual. Graeme will know what happens with covenstones if a character changes covens.

[quote=“Andy Raff”]I believe this bit of wiki from the magic item page is useful here. The bullet points summarize:

**You can never use two items of the same type in the same day
If an item has been used then it cannot be used again that day **

It’s also worth noting: *If the character or item is not present when the break bond spell is cast then the power of the item for the day is automatically used, as is the character’s ability to use an item of that type for that day. *

Hope that’s helpful.

I believe that the first point would prevent a coven that has been bonded to a coven stone and used a ritual drawing on it’s power from using the power of any other coven stone during that day. The second point would mean that if someone had used the power of the covenstone, no other coven could use the power of that stone until the next day.

There is some uncertainty of how that effects the individual. Graeme will know what happens with covenstones if a character changes covens.[/quote]

There’s also the question of what happens with coven bonds when you switch covens; I’d assume you can only contribute to rituals with one coven per day, absent magic items changing that like the Volhov’s Robe.

(Otherwise some slightly bizarre things could happen with, for example, a few high-Lore characters cycling through a series of other people’s covens to get more coven rituals done.)

Because it only works within nations, it’s quite difficult to use in practice, but it’s also (theoretically) devastatingly good if used right. It’s basically the absolute pinnacle of the art of cat-herding, because you need to organise multiple covens: there’s a breakpoint in the power of rituals that’s above the reasonable size for a coven, and this lets you reach it.

Basically it’s only worth having if your coven’s magic is popular in your nation, but in that situation it can mean your nation can pull off a strategic-scale ritual with a lot of planning.

[quote=“MorkaisChosen”]
There’s also the question of what happens with coven bonds when you switch covens; I’d assume you can only contribute to rituals with one coven per day, absent magic items changing that like the Volhov’s Robe.[/quote]

That is correct, it’s here in the wiki: profounddecisions.co.uk/empi … ups#Covens

[quote=“Roo_C”]

[quote=“MorkaisChosen”]
There’s also the question of what happens with coven bonds[/quote]

when you switch covens; I’d assume you can only contribute to rituals with one coven per day, absent magic items changing that like the Volhov’s Robe.

That is correct, it’s here in the wiki: profounddecisions.co.uk/empi … ups#Covens[/quote]

Aha! Reading that it’s actually slightly stricter than what I said - not only can you only contribute to one coven’s rituals per day, if you’re in a coven when they perform a ritual even if you don’t contribute, you’re locked out for the day. (That’s my reading, anyway.)

The sentence in question being "If a character is part of a coven that have already perform a ritual together that day, then they may join another coven but they cannot participate in another ritual conducted by that coven until the next day. "

Yeah basically if you have a coven with temporary members it adds another level of organisation to everything.