What instrument is good for beginners

Hi, im new to larping, so i thought i would hop onto here to see if you lot can answer my query. I like the idea of my character having an instrument to play at times, since she is the type of person to join in on the fun, but i do not know how to play any instruments - i can learn, i played a few songs on a friends Ukulele once.

But I’m not sure what instruments would be suited to Empire, so can you give me any ideas? I’ll be playing a Marcher, if that helps in anyway.

Thank you for all your help, stay safe and have a nice day :blush:

Voice.

Literally, best, cheapest, fastest instrument to learn. Doesn’t cost you anything extra, will always be on you, and if you’ve got a solid sense of pitch can get you places.

Other than that, I’d advise against woodwinds (flutes, recorders, fifes, etc), as they may look easy, but are not wet field friendly in the slightest. They’re also a right pain in the rear to learn quickly, if you’ve no previous experience with playing an instrument, and are very easily broken.

(NB, I play flute and attendant family instruments. It took me about two years to get to the point where I was classed as minimally proficient and not painful to listen to.)

Whatever looks and sounds appropriate :slight_smile:

I’ve seen drums, tambourines, bells, lutes, and I suspect there’s someone with a harp about… Also a couple of fiddles and guitars.

Nothing too complex like a trumpet, but horns are fine.

Classicly for the Marchers, I’d suggest tambourine. I play in Dawn, and bang rhythmically on a djembe drum occasionally.

The League had a battle orchestra once… with accordian… ah, but that’s another story…

…Is the battle orchestra one of those situations where nodding and smiling would be an appropriate response?

(Also, if anyone can march/walk/move at anything other than a zombie shuffle with an accordion, I am impressed…