Where should i get wepons?

Hi i’m new to Empire and LRP in general, having never played before i am a bit unsure as to where is best to get weapons (ideally a sword/shield combo) and was wondering if anyone could help?
(if its of any importance i’m playing a character from Wintermark)

Hi there! I am new to and asked just this question a few months back when booking my my E3 ticket. There are lots of traders I understand at the events with a great selection but if you want to get something nice pre-event for a bit of a swing around I went EPIC ARMOURIES via Larp Inn nice selection solid price all round very happy - Now I just need to pass the weapons check :grin:

Awesome, Thank you so much:grin:

Get your sword at the event. You need to feel the balance as every LRP manufacturer is different. Sheilds are pretty much generic. Since you are wintermark there are tons of round sheilds around.
If you have issues with your new sword during the event you have a good chance of getting it fixed.

2 Likes

do you know how much the props at the event tend to go for as i am just trying to work out all my costings?

Expect to pay up to 70 to 80 for a 42inch sword.
For a shield about 100 maybe less if you buy both from the same vendor and haggle.
Its expensive but remember a solid sword that is made well and cared for will last a long time.
I would say this too. Spend alot of time browsing.

My two favourite traders are Skian Mohr and the work of Andy Rimmer. And Light Armouries make some nicely weighted swords…

1 Like

Thank you!

1 Like

A slightly cheaper option on the sheild might be this

I have one at just over £50 it’s great! Might leave you a bit more to spend on your sword :grin:

I am an axe man myself!

1 Like

i do already own a mace but it is full foam and looks like one from the game skyrim so i wasn’t sure if it would be ok