Will unarmoured melee characters get slaughtered?

I’m completely new to any kind of LARP, and if I can get things together in time, hoping to get to the next event.

I’m not going to drop money on a set of armour straight away, just in case I don’t enjoy it, as I assume armour doesn’t come cheap. At the same time, I would like to experience the battlefield (how else will I find out if I like it?).

I don’t want to do magic. I’m going to buy a weapon on the day, but am thinking of getting a spear, as I’m short and need the reach. If it’s relevant in terms of fighting style etc., I’m looking at joining the Navarr.

Am I just asking to be made into a human pin cushion? Still trying to get my head around the skills, but I could get 1 or 2 ranks of Endurance to keep myself alive?

2 Likes

Hero points and Unstoppable might help you stay alive as well as endurance. Spears are iconic weapons for Navarr according to the wiki, so that sounds like an awesome choice for both tactical and coolness reasons.

It’s possible, but your best bet as a new player is to see if anyone is willing to lend you enough bits of armour to cobble together a full set of light armour. People are usually willing to help new players on the first game.

Although you will certainly learn battlefield awareness as an unarmoured combatant :slight_smile:.

Spears are cool because you can poke away from behind someone else, so that might help too.

Welcome along Anax. If you are short, using a spear, and in Navarr, I think you’ll be doing pretty well :slight_smile:

As mentioned, hide behind others, act as support, and keep an eye out in all directions.

As for pincushion, it’d take heavy armour or a hefty shield to make the archers ignore you, so even if you bought some armour, you’d still get potshots.

(On a metagaming level, if you play WITH Navarr, you won’t be monstering AGAINST the archers in playing Navarr)