Wisdom, support and guidance needed for new player!

Hello there, I’m Tom! I hope this finds all of you well!

I am just beginning my LARPing adventures for the very first time, and I am very unsure of how to begin.

I am coming into this fresh and solo currently as I don’t know anyone, though I would be highly interested in actually joining up with a group if I fit the bill!

As character creation goes, I am enjoying the concept of working on my strengths ( I have some previous sword training) and thought I could aim to step into the boots of an character whom is willful, noble and combative - thriving off victory, and enjoying friendly (competitive) duels. I was considering equipping myself with a Bastard/equivalent sword. I am Toying with a militaristic character background and in a test I chose Mortal blow and Stay with me!

So far, I think this all points me toward Dawn I believe? Another that drew me was Wintermark(?)

I have some armour I am interested in, but am unsure of whom to buy from (as far as quality and trust goes) and what would suit, as of course - if there are colour schemes/requirements for groups, I don’t want to invest heavily for it to be incorrect or unusable. Right now, I am quite drawn by the “Claw plated body armour” from Darkblade UK. Below I’ve posted a screenshot of one of YouLarp’s headcam battles, link as follows: Empire LARP 2016 Full Battle Headcam GoPro - YouTube - I really appreciate this gentlemen’s armour set and style

As far as lineage and other things (which I am sure there is a lot I have missed or have not thought of yet that I need to!) - I could really use some help, I am quite nervous about taking part and starting my quest - but equally very excited!

Any help would be so appreciated - thank you everyone!!
Tom

read the rest of the post by new players gather information then join the Facebook groups and chat :slight_smile:

1 Like