An amateur's guide to IC typesetting

[size=200]Introduction[/size]

Hi, I’m Dre. I’m here to share my experiences with producing IC documents for LARP. When I started out, I had no experience in desktop publishing whatsoever, but I wanted to create booklets and pamphlets and other documents that would feel immersive, rather than remind people of their actual modern printed origin. Over the years I’ve learned a few things and I wanted to share.

I’ll say it now: I’m by no means an expert at this. There are others with far greater skill, and I absolutely welcome additions, suggestions and corrections to this guide. If it takes off, I’ll edit this post with people’s suggestions as it progresses. I have a lot yet to learn myself!

[size=150]1. The tools[/size]

At the most basic, you need:

1. A word processor
  2. A nice font
  3. Access to a printer.

Ideally, though, if you’re wanting to pull off some really nice-looking documents, you’ll want to go a bit deeper and dip your toe into publishing software. There are plenty of commercial options: Publisher is widely-known, there’s InDesign, QuarkXpress, etc. but most of these are serious commercial tools that require a large outlay if not a subscription outright.

Personally, I use Scribus. Its major advantage is that it’s open source and thus free to use, and it has a lot of powerful functionality built into it.

If the prospect of a desktop publishing program is daunting, never fear! There is a simpler alternative - Powerpoint, or its open source counterpart OpenOffice Impress. I’ll get to why these programs work for typesetting in a minute.

Why not just use Word?