Any thrust-safe staff making tutorials?

Greetings citizens,

Can anyone recommend a vid or other tutorial on how to make a thrust safe wizard staff which might pass Empire weapons check? I’ve been doing some searching but haven’t been able to find anything that isn’t American.

Might be worth looking for thrust safe tutorials in general, i remember reading one yeeeears ago for spears, the core plan will be the same, youll just have a different shaped head :slight_smile:

Good call. Looking at the results, do you know if “boffer” is a synonym for “thrust-safe” in this context?

No, ‘boffer’ is it’s own type of weapon; generally made from pipe-lagging or pool noodles, wrapped in gaffer tape. They’re the most common type of weapon in US larps (and generally look rubbish IMO).

1 Like

Thanks for the info. Would you mind please describing a bit more how a thrust safe spear or staff is made? I have zero knowledge about these things and it would give me a good place to start looking for instructions.

Have you made larp weapons before? In my limited understanding, thrust safe weapons are pretty advanced.

1 Like

No I haven’t. I’m pretty good in my work shop so thought I might try making one to keep costs low… but haven’t been able to find hardly any info!

It doesn’t have to be super realistic. Just something to use on the battlefield which would pass weapons check and I wouldn’t be TOO embarrassed to carry around. I saw a vid on how to make one of the boffer wizard staff with a big foam green jewel and it looked pretty easy which is what got me started on this line of thought. Has pd got safety check guidelines anywhere? I see that on the weapons and armour page they talk about a ‘thrust safe tip’ on polearms and the like but is that defined more exactly anywhere else?

Yeah I suppose you’re right. E4 was my first event and I didn’t take the battlefield so I have zero experience with LARP weapons.

I have to agree with Kai G.