Broken sword

Hi my Gfs swords hilt looks like it needs fixing, i think its latex, has anyone fixed something similar to this?

I’m no expert, but that looks like the foam has split, never mind the latex covering it (which looks to be cast instead of painted on).

Given that the hilt looks like and extra added on top of the main structure, it could probably be repaired, but it’s a job for professionals.

Many of the companies that sell weapons at events do repairs: leave them an item with contact details, and pick it up next event. Could be worth asking around, because that is highly unlikely to pass weapons check.

As we’ll probably want it for our first event, what are the companies called? I’d love to send it ahead so we could pick it up at our first event!

(thanks for helping :smile:)

I’m sorry to say that looks like an injection cast sword. These can often be too hard for UK lrp systems or they have hard spots that cause them to fail weapons check. Those hard spots can be in the pommel or because the core is close to the surface because the casting wasn’t perfect. By no means is this always true. These swords can pass weapons check.
I would open the tear as much as possible then apply contact adhesive to the torn surface and where you want it to stick. wait for it to dry then stick the 2 surfaces together. It would cost a couple of quid for a tube of contact adhesive that will do the job.
Please speak to others about what to do. Larp swords aren’t cheap the one you purchased seems like a good idea but may not work in the field.

Thanks! does it matter what kind of contact adhesive i use (does that just mean glue?)

Contact adhesive is a type of glue but the main thing you want it for is it will stay flexible after it’s set. Here is a link to what would work.

Try tracking down the LRP weapons manufacturers here:

https://www.profounddecisions.co.uk/empire-wiki/Traders

I’ve had weapons repaired by Eldritch in the past, but not injection cast ones…

1 Like