Character Creation - Groups and how to join

Hi, I’m new to Empire and LARP in general (though I have expereince roleplaying in other formats)

I’ve been going through the character creation process and noticed that I have the option to join a group from the get-go.

My questions are: Am I allowed to choose a group even if I haven’t made contact with that group all ready? If I join a group when creating my character, will said group know I have joined them? Is there a way to make contact with a group and discuss joining before meeting IC at an event?

Thanks in advance for your input!

1 Like

Am I allowed to choose a group even if I haven’t made contact with that group all ready?

• I don’t think, there is a rule against it, but I would advise it. For one thing some of them the entire group has been executed for Religious Crimes in play (and some have just died out for less incriminating reasons.)

If I join a group when creating my character, will said group know I have joined them?

• The OOC group lead, can see who is part of the group if they look in the right place

Is there a way to make contact with a group and discuss joining before meeting IC at an event?

• So all the Nations have Facebook Groups, and this is probably the best place to look as most groups have someone on their nation group at least.

If you know your preferred nation, I second checking the Facebook groups. Most in-game groups are really friendly, but they might like a heads-up before you wander in and say you are their latest member.

Personally, I grabbed an Egregore about 1 second after time-in and asked her if she could point me in the right direction. It took her a few simple questions and she introduced me to the perfect group of mercenary healers. My wife, on the other hand, asked around on the League Facebook group for a suitable carta and negotiated a place which complemented their current business interests.

2 Likes