Embroidery Questions

Hi All,

I recently got a tunic (Pictured below) I was hoping to use for my kit and I was hoping to embroider some runes onto the edges of it.

I am completely new to embroidery and was wondering if you had any decent tips or advice?

Is there any services for other people to embroidery designs I send them on clothes?

If you embroider yourself do you use machines or hand embroidery? And is there any specific materials that work best for this (The tunic itself is made from canvas, 100% cotton)?

Any advice or suggestions is very welcome.

Hi there :smiley:

I do some embroidery and I can tell you what I’d do but I’m self taught so take it with a pinch of salt.

First, thread, on canvas I’d use crochet wool, it comes in every colour and it’s nice and cheap. It’s quite thick so you get a good effect and it isn’t as annoying as silk which tries to tangle and untangle itself if you take your eyes off it for one second. I like this thread https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07DCM4PTK/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_glt_fabc_QM91QQ1Z26A4C394VWZ3?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

Stitches, I use back stitch mostly, you can whip it if you want it to have a higher, round appearance or chain stitch if you want to cover more area and add texture. There are tons of beautiful stitches, you can find excellent tutorials on YouTube, but you don’t need to, plain backstitch looks amazing

You’ll want to get a couple of good needles, for wool, I like these ones https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07GV6GPGG/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_glt_fabc_T7RM6KKTP7VDDSN0PC2S?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1 cheap and easy.

Have fun and post pictures :purple_heart:

4 Likes

Getting a design you like onto your fabric can be tricky, here’s how I do it but there are other methods if you Google it.

Find a design you like, I haunt Pinterest but anywhere it’s not copyrighted is great.

Print it in the size you want it

Tape the design to some glass or flat, clear plastic