Heraldry - Is there a standard?

I’m new to the Empire LARP, and LARP overall, and am part of a banner which is being formed (hopefully) for the next Empire event. As part of the formation of our banner I proposed to my group that we have some form of actual heraldry, for use on banners, pennants and personal adornment, and was going by the standard rules of heraldic thumb (No colours on colours, no metals on metals etc). It has occured to me now however that there may already be a pre-existing court of arms, or other form of heraldic oversight which we may need to talk to first.

My real question therefore is; Is there a standard system for heraldry in Empire, and if so who runs it and how can I get in touch with them?

Thanks for any help you can provide, and I hope to see you at the next Empire event.

Aflin.

(Edit) If no such standard exists then would there be a need to set one up? I could probably find time to do this if needed/wanted

IA lot of this is going to depend on which nation you’re in, assuming you’re Dawnish in terms of turning up and not being too close to another house I’d suggest joining the dawn facebook group and checking with them first.

if you wanted. I think there was an attempt to gather a record of heraldry’s, but there is certainly no College of arms or anything similar.

I should have said, we’re Nevarr, so we’ve tried to remain fairly close to the example on the wiki page, the only quibble I have with it being the brown on the green, but that’s beside the point.

If there isn’t a College of Arms (England) or a Court of Arms(Scotland), do you think that there is any demend for such am institute to be set up? It would after all make sense given the medieval setting.

Aflin.

Partly this is going to differ from nation to nation in terms of the importance of symbology.

There is Empire: The Citizen’s Directory who, now I look them up are doing something similar.