How much for a costume and weapons roughly

Hi, I’m very new to LARP. I am a uni student and am looking to get into LARP without breaking the bank to much. Any help would be much appreciated!

1 Like

Have you looked at larpinn, i think they do basic sets but depends on what nation your joining, as some colours aren’t recommended like white or black for brass coast

Larpwarriors, viking store and deinlarpshop are fairly cheap depends what your after though, always double check with other sites to get the best deal and always double check postage.

So weapons and armour are going to be likely your big costs.

OC camping gear if it isn’t something you already have can be a little costly but you’d be surprised the impact a decent tent and sleeping bag will have on your event.

Costuming definitely depends on what nation you are playing, what local charity shops and similar you have nearby and what your personal skill with needle and thread is like

If you’re not too large, you can actually get surprisingly good LARP costume from places like supermarkets, TK Maxx and Primark at the moment. They have lots of linen stuff (in women’s sections at least, but would be fine for a man who can fit into it as Empire costumes are generally gender-neutral).

1 Like

Lots of good advice here. Costume can be cheap or can be costly; it kind of depends on how much you want to spend on it.

Weapons and armour, however, are pretty easy to give rough costs to. A simple LARP-safe sword from a reputable supplier is about £50-£65 (such as this one).

Armour depends on whether you want light, medium or heavy armour. For a newbie I’d recommend light. A simple quilted gambeson can cost about £60-90 depending on where you look, and is suitable for most nations.