IC Relationships

I have never done larp before and have heard about people getting married/being in romantic relationships IC. just out of curiosity, how does this work both IC and OOC? (im probably not phrasing this question well/ dont know what to ask. sorry about that :sweat_smile:)

Lots of communication!

If you think your character might be interested in forming anything other than a friendship or business relationship with another character then please talk to the player, preferably before or after time in and see if it’s something they can see their character reciprocating, or not as the case may be. Make sure you’re both happy where the boundaries are, both for conversation / insult topics and any physical actions, inc holding hands, kisses etc.

Also do be aware of any OOC relationships and if necessary check with their actual partner as to the limits they’re comfortable with too.

I suspect much of the more demonstrative role play you will have seen is possibly between players who are OOC life partners, or OOC really good friends already, so they already know their boundaries. It’s much more tricky with someone you don’t know so well - unfortunately just like real life!

Yup, to echo Charlie, talk, don’t assume, and not just at the outset; you may find that boundaries change over time (in either direction) or one of might give it a go and discover it doesn’t work for any reason.

If something happens in uptime, don’t be afraid to drop out of character and check in, OC boundaries are more important.

Prepping something out of character, where you have a chance to speak frankly about boundaries is preferable to winging it on the field and risk things going wrong.

This sort of thing is (part of) what tends to be called “ballgowning”.
There’s a good blog-post about it here:

Two more useful articles:
http://larphacks.tumblr.com/post/105878714762/fake-it-five-questions-to-ask-your-lover
and