Is light armor viable?

Hi
I’m new to empire and I’m planning on fighting as an archer and I cant decide if I should make light or medium armor.
Light is definitely cheaper but I’m not sure if that would mean instant death for me.
So basically I’m asking if an archer wear light armor and be fine?
Thank you

2 Likes

Yes it’s entirely possible to be an archer in Light Armour, I currently just wear a gambeson on the field and I’ve done ok. I would recommend picking up some Hero Points and the Relentless Skill to start with as having one of your legs crippled takes out your main advantage of mobility. You can also pick up a bunch of useful potions and if you’ve a friendly crafter picking up some enchanted light armour will be within your means.

But the main things that keep you alive on the field are mobility and situational awareness, plus having some mates to watch your back of course :slight_smile:.

1 Like

Thank you :grin:

Yeah, but we’ve established time and time again that mobility, situational awareness and mates is as OP as it comes, along with “LARP fighting practice”.

5 Likes

Eh, im not so sure tbh, but theres no huge difference in survivability between light and medium for archers, as long as you are paying attention 99% of your hits will come from enemy archers who ignore your hit points entirely (except head hits).

You wont instantly die though, unless you get stupendously unlucky, so go with what you can do and be happy with, then look at heavier armour or other gubbins down the line once you have a bit of experience and settle on what you enjoy.

Its perfect if you are fighting Jotun though as they dont shoot back and some nations spend an awful lot of time fighting Jotun :slight_smile:

Also, light armour doubles very well as warm clothing on cold events/nights which is a bonus!

1 Like

As someone who takes to the field in nothing and once tried to wear heavy, there are two schools of thought that I can identify.