Looking for advice on cloak material

Hi all, a complete novice here (both to Empire & to larping in general).
I’ve been looking to make myself a nice big semi-circle cloak for when I join Highguard at E3 this year, which is fine, but I’ve found myself a little stumped when it comes to the actual fabric for it. I’d been considering going for proper thick (maybe even boiled?) wool, but I’m also very conscious of the fact that E3 takes place in July, and to be frank I’d rather not catch heatstroke & perish at my first event (dramatic though that might be!). That being said, I’d prefer to have a reasonably thick/warm cloak if I can, but winter-grade wool is probably overkill. I’m still leaning towards wool if possible, but what are people’s thoughts on cotton drill, for example?

To be quite honest, I feel a tad lost here, so any pointers towards types of fabric, ideal weights, or even manufacturers would be greatly appreciated. What materials have other people used?

1 Like

Welcome, magpie!

Your concerns about wool are understandable, but consider:

If it’s that warm, you won’t need the cloak anyway.
A hot sunny day often means a pretty chilly night, and early mornings can be proper nippy too.
Wool is naturally water resistant and even in July British weather can be eccentric.

I’ve been larping for years and have made many bits of kit, and I would always recommend a coating weight wool for a generic cloak unless there’s a really good reason (allergies, vegan lifestyle, etc) not to.

Pure wool fabric is, alas, expensive. A high wool content blend gives you most of the advantages at a significantly reduced price. One very popular supplier with larpers is an eBay shop called Maggie’s Fab Fabrics - she sells a wool-cashmere-poly blend coating fabric in a variety of neutral colours including Highguard black at around £7 a metre, which is an incredibly good price for what you’re getting.