Making a Cloak with Curtains

Hello everyone!

I’ve been lurking here for a while now, but it’s time for my first post!
I’ve recently purchased a set of brown curtains from a charity shop to make a cloak with, they’re quite big, and lined with white fabric.
Will this be okay to make a nice, Navarri cloak with? Without freezing to death in the cold… I’m not sure whether I should experiment and try to make one, or whether I should buy one online (although I’m a broke student and can’t really afford to spend £50+ on a cloak right now…).
I’d love to hear how you made your cloaks (especially if you made yours from a set of curtains!), or where you bought them from! Every little bit of help will be so… well, helpful! Haha.

I’m so excited to go to Empire as it will be my first LARP, and wow, I just can’t wait for the Winter Solstice!

Thanks everyone!

https://www.profounddecisions.co.uk/empire-wiki/Costume_advice has a link to a cloak on there (it says for children but you can upsize!). You may need to sew a couple of bits of fabric together to make it long enough.

Cloaks ideally need to be two things, warm and waterproof. In the dry, a curtain-cloak world be fine, as it will help keep you warm in cold nights. In the wet though, it will soak up the rain and become heavy and sap the warmth from you.

If you do have a non-waterproof cloak make sure you have a waterproof layer on so your core doesn’t get wet (this is the method I use with my orange coat, I wear a waterproof jacket and trousers hidden underneath my IC layers. My coat can get as wet as it likes but I am still dry underneath).

Another tip: wash your curtains before you use them. Curtain dyes often run and you don’t want to discover they dye the rest of your kit in the rain. They also might shrink, best get that out the way before you cut anything to the right size.