Modifying Leather Armour

Hello all,
I’ve just acquired some second hand leather chest armour for a very reasonable price on the interweb. It’s nothing very fancy, however it’s a little bit big for me and quite ‘flat’ horizontally, though the layers don’t all sit particularly flush when worn. Hopefully I’ve successfully uploaded the picture below…

I was wondering if any of the wonderfully handy people in the community might have a bit of advice for me as to possibly altering the fit and moulding the plates? I don’t mind not being 100% precious with it and I’m intrigued by the hobby of leathercraft any way so I don’t mind taking things apart of modifying things in slightly more extreme ways…
Also, I’d quite like to make it more visually interesting so any tips/techniques to help with that would be much appreciated!

Sorry if I’m asking a daft question, I just figured that I’m new to the hobby and this would be a good place to ask! Thanks!

Welcome!

The photo has uploaded fine, so things are off to a good start. I’m still just starting out with leatherwork myself, so I’ll only be of limited use but I hope you won’t mind me asking a few questions that will hopefully help when the more knowledgeable bods arrive.

When you say a bit big, is that with regard to the shoulders, the body plates, both? Is it too long, too baggy, both again? What’s the thickness of leather that wants modifying, as that may affect what tools get recommended.

Also, have you tried it on over multiple layers of costume/clothing? At most events I find myself wearing 3 layers minimum and they can pad a body out more than you might expect. I ended up having to buy belts that would fall off me with “normal” clothing. You may also want a deliberately thick layer between you and the armour for comfort, it can all add up fast and mean more minor changes are needed than you might first think.