New player looking at kit and equipment costs

Hello, I understand that this question might be very open and hard to answer.

This is my first time doing any form of LARP event. I’m looking at the cost of the kit and equipment. I’ve dug around on a few websites and watched a few videos on the topic, but it’s hard to get a rough ballpark figure of what leather armour, shield, and weapon would cost.
Some websites hit the £1000 mark before you know it, and moving on the things like Wish.com is just a straight-up terrible idea.
Other places have recommended buying at the event, which I see the upsides to getting a feel for it and trying before you buy etc.
SO!
The abridged version of my question,
If I were to buy a fair to good quality
Leather armour - chest, bracers, shin guard
Shield
Sword
Cloak
Scabbard
What would the rough cost be?

I know you can make most things yourself, but I assure you I’m the sort of gent that still draws like a 3-year-old with a crayon, and I’m not the creative type when it comes to things like that.

Thank you for your time. I know this is a horrendously open question and will be hard to answer, maybe even impossible.

Cheers again
Foster

Firstly, welcome along Foster, to the hobby, the game and these forums!

You are correct in that buying the best is often very expensive. I would also concur with avoiding Wish: they are very cheap, and that’s the durability you’re paying for.

I note that what you’re after is “hard kit” (armour and weapons) as opposed to “soft kit” (non combat stuff, apart from the cloak.

I concur with buying at the event, ESPECIALLY weaponry. Sword/shield will need to pass an intensive safety check at the event, and alongside the benefits of getting a good feel of equipment, it’s a lot easier to get a refund if you bought the thing from that stall over there 5 minutes ago…