New to LARP

Hi guys im new to LARP in general and have looked at the character creator for empire and am quite confused to say the least does any one have any tips on creating my first character for empire?

Hi @tradarcherguy, welcome to the forums and to Empire!

Just to check, do you mean literally how to go through the character creator, or do you mean deciding on what you want your character to be/do?

Hi yes I need help with the character creator itself as it’s a little confusing

Okay, no worries! How far through the creation process are you? I.e. have you selected a nation yet, or got to the point of selecting skills?

Yes I’m up to the skills page and so far have selected marksman fortitude

Okay, so is it other skills that you’re having trouble with, or the next sections? Before I risk waffling on about something that turns out to be irrelevant :stuck_out_tongue:

Both the skills tab also the personal resource section are what’s giving me some trouble

So what you’ve chosen so far leaves you with 3XP. With all the other skills, you have to buy the “base” skill before you can buy further. Think of it like a skill tree. So if you want to buy magic, you first need to buy the base magician skill.

If you plan to be a fighter you might want to consider some “heroic” skills - again, as with the above, you need to buy the “hero” base skill first, as those skills require the expenditure of hero points (which is what buying the base hero skill gets you). You can see more on the hero skill options here https://www.profounddecisions.co.uk/empire-wiki/Heroic_skills.

The best thing to do if you’re curious about what the different skills do is to click the “?” next to them, as this will take you to the relevant wiki page.

[Anything that you select that requires extra choices (such as artisan where you need to choose items, or a lore of magic where you get to choose rituals), these options will be available in the following section.]