Question for Rapier owners

I’m looking to potentially get a rapier and the few I have found, owners have told me about how hard the pommel was(I hear this might be an issue) and how off balance it was. I was wondering where everyone got their rapiers from so that I might find a hopefully better options,

I have a Calimacil Agrippa, which is… rapier shaped. The balance is off, the sword is dense and heavier than others its size, but it’s a survivor. It shrugs off abuse, like being stepped on, without (so far, touch wood) failing a weapons check in any system I have used it in. I have been warned by checkers that it’s a little hard, but just this side of safe.

I bought it when I was a newbie and entranced by the promise of a stab-safe rapier (no, you can’t stab in Empire, don’t even ask) and I don’t really regret it. This is a back-up sword for me; it was over £100, but it’s lasted almost four years and lots of mishaps, IIRC.

At E3 last year, I tried a couple of rapiers and the balance was just perfect on them. They were light and fast and… look, just grab £80-90 in cash and go visit the vendors before time-in so you can try out the swords and find what works for you. If it fails weapons-check, they will almost certainly give you an exchange or refund. No P&P, no stress, no worrying about whether a sword made for Canadian systems can pass a UK weapons check.

3 Likes

The Calimacil were the ones I was looking at actually. Good to know that it won’t be failed at weapon checks which is what worried me into asking in the first place.

Hmm… I never said it would pass, just that it has not failed one so far. At least two weapons checkers have warned me about the firmness of the foam (ignore idiots who say it is injection moulded; it’s not) and one even went for a second opinion before passing it. Of note is that Calimacil swords apparently get far firmer when they are cold and I have always been lucky enough to visit weapons check on a warm day.