Hello, I'm just rereading the rules about magic implements. I had forgotten the requirement that, since Empower is strictly speaking an Offensive spell, it requires an Implement to cast.
Fortunately I have my beautiful stab-safe mage staff made by Saxon Violence just waiting to be used in battle. But I was also looking at having a wand or rod to hand. This leads to my question:
When does it matter in the rules whether an implement is strictly a rod or a wand?
I understand that a Wand is 8"-18" and a Rod is 18"-42" and I know there are certain magic items which can only be one or the other. But I was wondering if there are any other times when the distinction is needed.
For example, I know that the rules for Mortal Blow are stricter than the general great weapons category. You can't use mortal blow with a weapon that is a spear or a flail, and the minimum length is 48" rather than 42" for great weapons more generally. Amusingly the poleaxe which was my favourite weapon in Maelstrom (never used in anger even once) is slightly too long and thus is strictly a polearm instead of a great weapon.