Weapon crafting advice needed

Greetings forum dwellers,
I am attempting to craft some LARP safe weapons. To practice I have made a small sword for my son to play with at home.
Unfortunately while the safty and sturdiness of the build seems good, I am having trouble getting a smooth finish on the LARP safe foam I have bought for the blade (bought from a German LARP Shop, LD45 I think). The pommel is made out of EVA foam. The tip has been protected with foam wrapped in a tear resistant fabric also purchased at the same LARP shop. I have primed it with 3 layers of plastidip. And the paint will be protected with 2 more layers of transparent plastidip.
As a beginner I am looking for all the advice/feedback I can get. Also warning if I am doing something wrong.
Cheers in advance,
Joe

2 Likes

Hi Joe ,
Most weapons in UK larp use latex and isoflex as a covering . Latex can be sprayed with a LPHV spray gun and can give a very smooth finish after several coats. Plastidip can make the weapon a little hard if you use enough layers to get a smooth finish and is also quite expensive compared to latex. As part of the weapon check team we will always take every weapon on a case by cace basis regarding safety so definitely bring it along so we can have a look.
I do love the paint job by the way! Hope this was helpful.

2 Likes

Yes, very useful. I will research LPHV sprays. And thanks for the paint job compliment, it’s probably the only skill I bring to that new crafting endeavour.

Latex can also be brushed on, which I think can be made to give smooth results. or you can dip a weapon into it. (I seem to remember reading about dipping sword-blades into latex in a piece of waste-pipe plumbing.)