Best ways to Find Good Game

I’m new to the world of LARP and Empire, I’ve done tabletop RP but I was wonder what the best ways to interact with people. Is there specific ways that new players interact that you find annoying or irritating? Is there any questions or conversations you love to have IC? Is there any advice you’d give to somebody looking to get stuck in with other players without being overbaring? Are there any places or people that are particularly good for generating good game?

Any and all feedback would be appreciated.

1 Like

2 useful phrases:

“I am new to Anvil” - Which most of us will take as meaning new player, might need a bit more explanation.

“Yes” - When asked if you want to do almost anything. The more times you say yes, the more of the game you’ll experience and the better idea of where you might find the most fun.

If you’re a little bit more shy about walking into the middle of any conversation cold then reading the winds of War / Fortune which go up just before each event and picking something to have an interest and/or opinion on will help. You can also ask your Egregore if they know anyone else in your nation who might be interested in the same thing or would like an apprentice, or knows about x. You can turn up at the hub, read the notice boards and see if anyone else also reading has an opinion or interest too. If you prefer something a little quieter visit the library and ask the librarians if they can point you towards something to read on whatever you are interested in.

It is worth seeing if you can find something that your character is interested in before you get to Anvil. You might find that you end up doing something else entirely but it’s nice to have a hook.

When you say “I am new to Anvil” might need a bit more explanation. Do you mean IC i should give more detail or that there is more meaning than just saying i’m a new player.