Getting fit for the larp season

So Christmas and New Year is done and you’re contemplating potentially running around in armour in a few months. What are you doing to try and getting a bit fitter?

I’m planning to pick Zombies Run 5K back up and go from there. The NHS also has a good page on Couch to 5k.

LARP Hacks also has some useful tips on getting fit if you don’t have much free time that might be useful.

What are you up to and do you have any tips to share?

No tips sadly, but thank you for posting this as it reminds me that I need to get back to it!

I started Couch to 5k last year, but then had holidays and LARP, and then it got cold (and I’m not good with the cold at the best of times!), but I definitely plan to get back into it this year. The LARP Hacks link is very useful as well!

The Zombies Run thing is pretty helpful, it also works with spotify and other external music apps now :slight_smile: Best of luck :+1:

Trying to up my flexibility…only tip I can really give on that score is 10-30mins a day.
Any more and you don’t see any benefit from the extra work (and after a point start undoing your work and increasingly likelihood of injury), any less and you don’t get max bang for your buck.

Me and my SO are starting to hit the gym this Friday, I’ve got to loose the Christmas pudge and she want to get fit to go on battles and skermish

It’s back to martial arts for me and the five mile walks home. I find walking good is it gives me time to think and it certainly stops me from sliding backwards but it doesn’t help me go forwards.

To really see improvement you need a certain level of intensity but before you go and try and do fifty press ups and bench 100kg, you need to consider where you actually need to improve. Is it your arms, is it your legs or is it your core?