Making a shield

Hi, I’m new to empire and I know the weapons and armour checks are very stringent, and therefore I’ve bought a sword and armour so I can be sure they’ll pass inspection. However, I’d really like to have a shield for my character but they’re difficult to find for a price I can afford. (I’m a student) So I’ve started making a shield. I’ve carefully read the shield safety requirements but would like some advice on how to ensure it passes inspection.

I’ve made it out of EVA foam with a disk of cardboard encased in the centre. (completely covered in foam) The back is covered in a soft faux leather upholstery material. The handles are Leather and are securely fixed to the shield and measured to my arm so the shield will not flap. My concern is the edge, as it has to be padded but I’m not 100% certain how thick/soft the padding has to be.

I’ve made Larp and cosplay weapons before, just never one that has to pass inspection! Thanks to anyone who can help :slight_smile:

Welcome along Phoebs, to the game and the forums! :slight_smile:

Shields are expensive, so I can understand you wanting to make your own, Where, out of interest, did you get the weapons and armour from?

Final decision on this is made by the weapons checkers on site, but it sounds like your shield is erring on the side of caution in it’s construction. Which is a good thing.

I’ve not made shields myself, but in my inexpert opinion…

No spiky rivets, wooden edges, wing-nuts? Foam over cardboard for a little stiffness…

So you have, from the front, foam, cardboard, and then the leather backing, then your handles? I’d suggest an inch or so of foam around the edge, flat to the “sandwich” of materials, so as to hold it all in place. A padded edge is to stop any tough materials sliding out and cutting into someone. If you can headbutt the edge of your shield with no damage to anything but your dignity, that’s probably a safe edge.