Training for battle

sorry if this is a bit off topic, but this is the only place i know of to ask these sorts of questions.

i have no experience with larp fighting or armed combat in general, can anyone tell me where i might learn more about fighting so that i dont show up to the next event impotently flailing my staff, rod and buckler around? preferably youtube videos but all advice is welcome.

Firstly, where do you live? there are a smattering of groups around that practice larp fighting at varying levels of regularity?

i would prefer generalized advice like ‘find a Hema group or reenactment society’ (are those ideas as useful as i think?)

They can be, but reenactment and such, have different safety requirements.

Look at things like your local Universities, they might have a larp society or you could look for small linear larps like fools and heroes or such and join those being honest about your inexperience.

As @Ricohard has mentioned professional combat is very different and while it will give you much help it will also hinder you! As someone who comes from a fencing background as well as other combat experiences I know how hard it is to adopt a new way of working as large parts of the actual point of contact are where the real challenges lie. You can learn the basics of movement and footwork but aside from that it will cause some frustration as it goes against everything else you have been taught. Personally I would either find a LARP near you and learn from them or wait till you get to the event, most nations do battle skills and training IC.

Indeed. Your best bets are either to find a local LARP group (give us a location and we’ll probably have members from there on these forums) or to turn up early at the events and get some practice in.

Most groups/nations will happily set to for a spot of tuition/practise/sparring. If you need extra room, come to Dawn, we have a sparring ring (“The Glory Square”) for just this sort of thing :slight_smile: